APGA Safety Recognition

The American Public Gas Association (APGA) Safety Contest is an annual award given out to APGA public natural gas system members for their dedication to keeping their employees safe every day on every job. While all APGA public gas system members are eligible to enter, not all will win.

The contest is divided into 5 different groups based on the annual number of man-hours worked. Man-hours are reported along with injuries arising out of and during the course of employment, following the same reporting requirements as Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) in the OSHA 300 Log. Winners of each group are calculated with a formula based on total man-hours worked and the number of recordable injury or illness cases from January 1 to December 21 of the prior calendar year. Jackson Energy Authority joins 13 other public gas systems receiving this award in 2022.